Recent book purchases

After visiting Pick Me Up on Tuesday, I went to a bookstore called Magma near Leicester Square. It is a very small store, but the variety of books seem endless, from Graphic Design, Illustration, Web Design, photography, fashion, childrens books and magazines, there is something for any creative person. I picked up 05:Pastel in the Palette Collection by Viction:ary. Others in the collection are 01:Black and White, 02:MultiColour, 03:Gold and Silver and 04:Neon. I have found myself being quite obsessed with pastel colours at the moment (especially green and purple variations), and am thoroughly enjoying all the designs using these shades.

20140505_194345

20140505_194615

Not only is there great content, but the book itself is lovely. A grey textured dust cover and coloured page edges.

20140505_194712

 

I also bought a book by Alannah Moore called ‘The Creative Person’s Website Builder’. It is useful read, as I am familiar with wordpress, but would like to extend that by making my account premium and making improving my blog. I am studying Interactive Media and can code HTML and CSS myself, which I think will be forever useful, and I wouldn’t want to rely on WordPress for everything. However a friend and I were recently talking about having a summer project of a book blog, and I’d like to reap the benefits that WordPress has to offer and have an awesome blog. What I have read so far is mostly what I already know, so hopefully as I read a bit more it will give me a bit more insight.

20140505_194734

Leave a Reply

